Banks / India Post Payments Bank
MD & CEO, India Post Payments Bank. A veteran public-sector banker with 26+ years of banking experience prior to joining IPPB, he leads the bank's growth, innovation and customer-satisfaction agenda, including the wider rollout of the DakPay UPI app and doorstep banking services.
As a wholly government-owned company under the Department of Posts, IPPB's MD & CEO and Board are appointed by the Government of India (typically for fixed tenures), rather than through market-listed-company shareholder processes as at private/listed banks.
| Name | Tenure (approx.) | Notable Period |
|---|---|---|
| R. Viswesvaran | Current | DakPay full-scale rollout; return to sustained profitability (FY 2023-24 & FY 2024-25) |
| J. Venkatramu | ~2020 โ 2023/24 | Post-COVID digital scale-up; steered IPPB toward its first profitable years |
| Suresh Sethi | 2018 (pan-India launch) โ ~2020 | Founding MD & CEO; led the September 2018 nationwide launch |
Balance enquiry, service requests, general banking queries
24ร7 for reporting unauthorized transactions or blocking your debit card immediately
Under its RBI Payments Bank licence (2014 Payments Bank Guidelines), India Post Payments Bank is legally prohibited from issuing loans, credit cards, or any other credit/NBFC-style lending product of its own. IPPB does, however, facilitate/distribute loans as an agent of partner banks and NBFCs through its app and access points โ this is fundamentally different from lending on its own balance sheet, since the credit decision, disbursal and risk sit with the partner lender, not IPPB. The bank's own permitted activities are limited to deposits (subject to the RBI balance cap), payments/remittances, and distribution of third-party insurance and investment products as a corporate agent.
As a Payments Bank, IPPB cannot offer traditional fixed or recurring deposits the way universal banks do โ it pays tiered savings-account interest, credited quarterly, on the daily balance held (subject to the RBI deposit cap). Rates below are fetched live from the official site where possible; otherwise the last published rates are shown.
India Post Payments Bank is wholly owned by the Government of India and is not listed on any stock exchange, so it does not file SEBI-style quarterly results. The figures below are compiled from Department of Posts / PIB press releases and IPPB's disclosed annual figures โ a clean, audited 4-year table in the exact format used for listed banks is not publicly available, and full FY 2025-26 figures had not been published as of this page's authoring date (September 2026, shortly after the fiscal year-end).
| Metric | FY 2025-26 (year to Mar 2026) | FY 2024-25 (year to Mar 2025) | FY 2023-24 (year to Mar 2024) | FY 2022-23 (year to Mar 2023) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Net Profit / (Loss) | Not yet published in sources reviewed | โน133.86 Cr (turnaround year) | โน34.23 Cr | โน20.16 Cr (first profitable year) |
| Income | Not yet published | โน2,148.12 Cr | Not separately disclosed in sources reviewed | Not separately disclosed in sources reviewed |
| Expenditure | Not yet published | โน2,014.27 Cr | Not separately disclosed in sources reviewed | Not separately disclosed in sources reviewed |
| Total Deposits | ~โน29,104 Cr (as reported, Mar 2026) | ~โน20,000 Cr (as reported, Aug 2025) | Not separately disclosed in sources reviewed | Not separately disclosed in sources reviewed |
| Customer Base | ~13+ crore (as reported) | 12+ crore | Not separately disclosed in sources reviewed | Not separately disclosed in sources reviewed |